IEEE SIGHTSteering Committee

The SIGHT Steering Committee (SSC) is structured into specific operational subcommittees that each provide regular updates and an annual report to the SSC. The Committee manages all aspects of IEEE SIGHT including approving new teams, training teams, organizing community engagement workshops, evaluating requests for project funding, tracking project performance, communicating SIGHT activities within SIGHT and across IEEE, working effectively across IEEE OUs, and maintaining a quality improvement process for all SIGHT activities.


Sampathkumar Veeraraghavan | Chair, IEEE SIGHT

Mr. Sampathkumar Veeraraghavan currently serves as Chair of the 2019 IEEE SIGHT Steering Committee. As such, he is a member of the Humanitarian Activities Committee (HAC) established by the IEEE Board of Directors.

Mr. Veeraraghavan, an internationally recognized technologist is best known for his pioneering leadership and technological innovations in developing large-scale computing systems, advanced software technologies and systems engineering solutions to solve complex real-world computing challenges across multidisciplinary domains such as healthcare, disabilities, education, poverty alleviation, assistive technologies and security.

He received his M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Tufts University, Massachusetts, USA (2010) and B.E. degree in Computer Science and Engineering from Anna University, Tamil Nadu, India (2005). Currently, he works as a Technical Program Manager at Amazon, Massachusetts.

Mr. Veeraraghavan is the founder and director of the technology-based humanitarian program “The Brahmam” (meaning knowledge) which aims to address pressing global and local humanitarian challenges in developing nations through advanced technological solutions. For over a decade, he delivered technology-based sustainable programs that brought together the engineering community, Non-Government Organizations, Governmental agencies, engineers, students and disability advocacy groups to improve the living conditions of children with disabilities, impoverished women and students in developing nations.

Veeraraghavan’s exemplary scholarly contributions and leadership accredited him with numerous global honors. As an active IEEE & IEEE HKN volunteer, he enjoys volunteering and serves in global engineering forums to promote the advancement of engineering and technology. He has extensively contributed to numerous IEEE technology-based humanitarian efforts globally. He has been the IEEE Member & Geographic Activities Governor-At-Large (2015-2017) on the global IEEE HKN board of governors, served as the Chair for the SIGHT Projects committee (2015-2017) and IEEE EPICS proposal committee (2016-2018). Over a decade, he has served and contributed to the growth of numerous global IEEE committees such as IEEE HKN, IEEE History committee, IEEE SIGHT, IEEE EMCC, IEEE Public Visibility initiatives, IEEE educational activities, IEEE Young professionals and IEEE Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS).

Daniel Lottis | Past Chair, IEEE SIGHT

Daniel Lottis currently serves as Past Chair of the IEEE SIGHT Steering Committee. He previously served on HAC’s precursor ad hoc HAHC, as well as being a founder and the first Chair of the Santa Clara Valley Section (also known as “Silicon Valley Section”) SIGHT committee.

Over the last eight years, he has served as a volunteer in one role or another within IEEE, and was nominated for an IEEE Outstanding Service and Leadership Award at the Section level in 2017. Daniel’s involvement with IEEE HTA began in 2013, when he joined the organizing committee for the 2013 GHTC (San Jose). Daniel continued serving the Global Humanitarian Technology Conference in 2014, again identifying and recruiting invited speakers for both plenary and break-out sessions.

Since 2013, Daniel has been employed as a Principal Engineer at Western Digital Technologies. He has joined with his coworkers in numerous community outreach activities, including multiple cycles as a “Citizen Teacher” at a local Middle School with a non-profit called Citizen Schools. His activities as a community outreach volunteer at WD earned him a “Volunteer of the Month” recognition early in 2018.

Daniel earned a PhD in Physics at the University of Minnesota, preceded by a Bachelor’s degree in Physics at the Federal University of Parana in Curitiba, Brazil. Prior to being admitted to UFPR, he earned a technician certificate in construction technology at Curitiba’s Federal Center for Technological Education (secondary school plus one focus year). Eight years after earning his PhD in the USA, Daniel returned to his alma mater in Brazil, where he held an appointment as a visiting professor for five years. During that time, Daniel taught many courses for university students who were preparing for careers as STEM teachers. This included numerous visits to classrooms in public schools in Curitiba, where he supervised student teaching activities. Also during that time period, Daniel presented papers and taught workshops at several physics and science education conferences in Brazil and Argentina. His accumulated experience in Brazil, ranging from childhood to teaching at UFPR, had a profound impact on Daniel’s perspective on sustainable development and economic inequality.

Julianna Pichardo | IEEE SIGHT Program Specialist

Julianna Pichardo joined the Humanitarian & Sustainable Development Activities team at IEEE after returning to the U.S. from the Dominican Republic.  While in the DR, she worked with Esperanza International, a microfinance nonprofit dedicated to poverty alleviation. At Esperanza, Julianna held positions in communications and operations analysis and worked closely with diverse stakeholders, from board members to local program staff to donors to micro-entrepreneurs, to increase long-term impact for 10,000+ clients.
A fluent Spanish speaker, Julianna has studied in Chile, and is a nine-time participant in mission trips to Guatemala City focused on community development initiatives.
Julianna enjoys supporting SIGHT members and groups and meeting volunteers and supporters from around the globe.

Betsy Toland | IEEE SIGHT Administrative Support

Ms. Betsy Toland is the Special Interest Group on Humanitarian Technology (SIGHT) program Administrator. She joined the team in March 2016 and is responsible for performing and managing operational duties in support of SIGHT team. She is also responsible for management of IEEE SIGHT promotional material, processing of expense reports, tracking of expenses as well as other ad hoc projects.

Back to Top
- Enter Your Location -
- or -